I’m not the only one, right?

What if the Mayan calendar is right?  What if this beautiful country we live in self-destructs with a collapsed monetary system and utter chaos?  I don’t claim to be an expert and I’m not sure that any of this will come about (in my lifetime).  I’m a worrier though, and it really is prudent to plan for contingencies right?  Many people keep emergency kits in their trunks.  I am collecting books that will tell me how to be self-sustaining…field guides on edible plants, how-to books on canning, gardening, sewing, catching fish and animals, skinning and cooking said animals.  I also have a fund started for building an emergency kit, which may be a pointless effort if the dollar is no longer good for commerce.  I entertain thoughts in my head about reverting to the pioneer days, when the main focus of life was survival, about my loved ones and neighbor’s banding together to survive in a world that is different, harsher, simpler. Tell me I’m not the only one please.

\”the end of the world\” REM

About streamingandscheming


One response to “I’m not the only one, right?

  • Mom

    You don’t remember the hubbub about the coming of the year 2000? People were thinking about and doing the same things you are worried about now…including hoarding supplies and food.

Got Something to Say?

